KNA CERTIFICATION COMPANY LIMITED

"Quality Innovation"

Fundamental requirements for food of Kosher

The core principals of Kosher are written in The Five books of Moses and considered as “law”, the Jews must follow without any explanation. However, Jew priests always emphasize the significant role of maintaining their religion.

Only a proper diet does good for health, so the Jews choose kosher standard for their food. In Jew’s house, the dining table is treated as altar, kitchen is a sacred place.

1. Introduction of Kosher

In Jew, "Kashrus," originally Kosher (or "kasher") means “proper” and/ or “pure”, so that it could ensure harmony consumption.

"Kashrus" comprises a comprehensive set of laws relating to allowed and banned food. There are some aspects of dietary principles that we will look into respectively in this article.

2.1 Meat and meat derivatives

Kosher meat must comply with specific rules:

Kosher cattles:

According to Torah, edible meat products are from cattle with “cloven hooves” and “ruminants”. “If an animal meets either “cloven hooves” and ruminants (e.g pigs with cloven hooves but not ruminants, or camels are ruminant but not with cloven hooves), their meat cannot be eaten. For example, Kosher animals include bulls, cows, goats, antelopes. According Torah law, a kosher animal must be slaughtered by a” "Schochet" – ritual slaughter. Jewish religious laws forbid to hurt animals, so slaughtering must be conducted when animal is unconscious and have almost immediate death. Kashering (Eliminating blood) và remove the veins and skin ('Porschen' hoặc 'Nikkur')

After the animal is slaughtered, its fat and veins will be removed by Kosher supervisor and his team. In half hour, treated meat will be soaked in a water tank with indoor temperature. In order to remove all blood, the meat will be put on a special covered table where it is two-side pickled in one hour.

2.2 Bird / poultry and derivatives

Some bird cannot be eaten such as: eagles, owls, swans, pelicans, vultures, and storks- and their eggs as well (Lê vi Ký 11:13-20). Only traditional kosher birds / poultries such as geese, ducks, chickens, and turkeys are edible. 

2.3 Milk and derivatives

All of Kosher yogurt must be made of milk of kosher animal. Besides, impure cow’s milk is strictly forbidden. Milk products must not contain non-kosher additives, meats, and its derivatives (e.g cheese is made with animal fat). 

In addition, some processed food contains small amount of milk like whey powder. However, according to food product regulations, additives with such insignificant amount is not essential to report on package but can make your products non-kosher. This is specially applied to bread.

2.4 Forbid the combination between milk and meat

Sandwich Torah says: "You can’t cook a goat in its mother’s milk" (Ex.23: 19). It means milk and meat products cannot be cooked together or serve simultaneously in a meal and cannot eat together. This rule is strictly followed by Jewish families. Even when they wash dishes and cooking stuff, they categorize carefully then label these stuff. By practicing this rule, they might develop daily habit. After eating meat, they have to wait from three to six hours to drink milk. After drink milk, there is no need for them to wait to eat meat.

2.5 Eggs

They are allowed to eat kosher bird’s eggs as long as these eggs do not contain blood. Therefore, eggs must be checked carefully.

2.6 Fish

Only Tunafish with fin and scales are permitted, for example: tuna, salmon, and herring. Shellfish such as shrimp, crabs, oysters and lobsters are prohibited.

2.7 Fruit, vegetable, grain

All products that grow in soil, kosher trees or bush are allowed. However, all Tất cả các sản phẩm phát triển trong đất hoặc trên cây, bụi cây, hoặc cây kosher. However, all insects and animals with short legs or feet are not kosher. Consequently, vegetables, fruits and other products contaminated with this insect must be inspected and the insects must be removed.

A damage-prone plant like cauliflower should be checked carefully.

2.8 Fruit and tree

Some rules are applied specifically to sow seeds and grow vegetables, fruits and grains. Hybridization of different strains: One can not sow two seeds on a field or in a vineyard. (Lev.19: 19 / Dtn.22: 19)

Forbidden fruit: Not eat home fruit for three years. (Lev.19: 23)

Early season grains: According to the Bible, it is forbidden to eat the early grain, or bread made from these grains before offering the first "omer" of the harvest on the second day of the Passover (Lev.23: 14)

2.9 Kosher Wines

Tonneaux gelatin, casein, and cow blood are unacceptable in the making of kosher wines. Only kosker bacteria or enzymes can be used for fermentation. All equipment and utensils used for harvesting or handling grapes must be cleaned under supervision. It is not allowed to use the bottle to fill for times.

In addition, all processing steps must be carried out in accordance with the requirements of the "Halacha" (Jewish religion law). For example, there are no other strains that can be hybridized with grapes (forbidding hybridation).

2.10 Beverages

Beverages produced from grapes or grape derivatives can only be drunk if it is produced in accordance with Jewish law by a kosher winery.

To find the most prestigious kosher certification organization, please contact KNA CERT at Hotline: 093.2211.786 for best service.

Chia sẻ

Tin liên quan

DMCA.com Protection Status